Your Own Kind of Beautiful for FMS247

I love butterflies! There is something about them that is so graceful and fragile, yet so strong. We recently took a trip to San Antonio, Texas to visit my best friend Brandi and her family along with some other friends. During our time there went to the zoo, they have a butterfly house and of course I had to go in. It is so amazing to see, it almost moved me to tears just seeing them all flying around. Even little Brandon was enthralled. He wasn’t quite ready to touch one but he couldn’t take his eyes off of them!

Butterflies

Today’s card is based on sketch 247 from Freshly Made Sketches. I love the simplicity of this sketch and I knew that it would go perfectly with the Beautiful Wings set.

FMS Final 247-001

This three layer stamp is just beautiful, to me it really shows the delicacy and strength of butterflies. I love how the stamps make it easy to really show depth and color as well.

Beautiful Wings 1

I just love this color combo as well. The darkest purple is Pretty Pansy, I love what a deep rich purple it is. These pictures really don’t do the color justice. It is so bright and just WOW! What a deep purple is supposed to be.

When doing the three step stamping I start with my lightest color, which in this case is Pretty Amethyst. The second layer is Grape Fusion, and the top layer, the details of the wings, the antennae, and the body is the Pretty Pansy.

It’s just so beautiful, in fact it goes right with the sentiment, “Be your own kind of Beautiful”!

Beautiful Wings 2

Here is a closer shot so you can really see the detail. I used my circle dies to cut a piece of the Pretty Pansy and it is adhered directly onto the card. The butterfly however is fussy cut (with scissors, no die) and popped up on foam squares so it has a little more dimension. I love foam squares! Sometimes that little bitty pop can make all the difference in a card.

I thought about adding some Journey Sparkle Dust to the butterfly but I really wanted it to stay simple and, for lack of a better word, pure. It’s just straight stamping on this one and I think it’s perfect!

Beautiful Wings 3

One final shot that shows off the dimension better. Richard Garay, the Fun Stampers Journey founder, says that, “when in doubt pop it out” and it’s so true! You can never go wrong by adding a little dimension to your project. Especially when there are multiple layers. That last element popped up really sets it apart from the other layers on your project.

Let me know in the comments what you think. Also give me some suggestions on what other colors would work well with this stamp set. I love to receive input and feedback!

Happy Stamping!

Tricia

 

You can find all of the ingredients listed below on my website

Stamps: Beautiful Wings (SS-0353)

Cardstock: Whip Cream (CS-0040) and Pretty Pansy (CS-0029)

True Color Fusion Ink Pad: Pretty Pansy (IP-0026), Grape Fusion (IP-0006), and Pretty Amethyst (IP-0018)

 

Tools: Journey Circles Dies (DI-0039), Journey Platinum Machine (TO-0090), and Details Pro Shears (TO-0063)

4 thoughts on “Your Own Kind of Beautiful for FMS247

Leave a Reply

