Just a Birthday

So I told you that October is mega-birthday month around here right?  Today was my nephew’s 26th birthday!  Oh my goodness that’s just not right!  I remember when he was born, he was such a tiny sweet little thing!  I was 13, do the math, and he was my first true love!  It’s really cool… My sister is 13 years older than me, I’m 13 years older than my nephew, and he’s 13 years older than my daughter.  There is also 13 years between my mom and dad!  Oh, and my birthday is September 13th!  How cool is all that?  There are a lot of other 13’s in there that I could list, 13 is a repetitive number in my life, so if there were such thing as lucky numbers (I don’t believe in luck) then 13 would be mine!  Anyway, I thought I would share a birthday card with you today.  It’s not the one we sent to my nephew.  I don’t want to share it until it has a chance to get there!

 

We did this at a workshop a while back I had for Debbie, Hi Debbie!  She found me from the Stampin’ Up! ® Demonstrator Finder on the website, how fun is that?  Anyway, last month at her workshop this is one of the cards we did!  I absolutely love this card, it’s actually a CASE (Copy and Share Everything) from someone, but I can’t find the original.  Is it yours or do you know who was the original creator?  If so please tell me so I can give proper credit where credit is due, the original artist did such an amazing job, I love it.  I love it so much that I sent it to someone this month as a birthday card!

One thing that caught my eye was that it used one of my favorite Designer Series Papers, Comfort Café.  It reminds me of the country, maybe Little House on the Prairie or something like that!  I tweaked the original a bit, I turned the squares so that they are diamonds, I thought it just gave it a bit of a different look.  You’ll notice that the edges of the squares are sponged with Soft Suede.  It gives the card a bit of a distressed look, but it’s not overpowering, it just blends it all together nicely I think.

 

For the sentiment I used Happy Birthday, but you could use anything with this card.  Also notice that it is Perfectly Penned which is one of the sets that you can buy the single stamps from for a limited time.  So if you just wanted to get the Happy Birthday that I used on this card without purchasing the whole set you can do that, or one of the other sentiments alone without the whole set.  I love that Stampin’ Up! ® is trying this program out.  If you like it let them know, perhaps it will hang around for a while.

Ok, I’m off to bed.  I had a crazy afternoon shopping with two teenagers today.  One of the girls, my bonus-daughter had us cracking up trying on crazy outfits, she put on a gold ankle length sweater dress, a black fur coat, a brownish fur stole, a grey fur purse, a bright blue feather boa, and a brown fur hat… oh, and she had her turquoise and brown cowboy boots on.  THEN she was dancing a jig… so funny!  We were cracking up, in fact, I think I snorted about five times in a row!  All that said, I’m tired and heading to bed!  Sweet dreams!

Stamps:  Perfectly Penned (122890 – Wood or 12892 – Clear, Single Stamps Available Here)

Ink:  Soft Suede (126978)

Paper:  Midnight Muse (126843), Soft Suede (115318), Whisper White (100730), Comfort Café Designer Series Paper (126898)

Accessories:  Soft Suede 3/8” Taffeta Ribbon (122967), 1 ¼” Square Punch (119865), Stamping Sponges (101610), Stamp-a-ma-jig (101049)

Miscellaneous:  Snail

Leave a Reply

