Workshop Today!

I had a workshop today for a good friend, Nikki.  She had a great turnout and I think the ladies all had a great time!  They made two adorable cards using products from the Annual Catalog and the Holiday Catalog!  I love it!  There were some ladies there who had never stamped before and they really loved it!  It’s so awesome to see people stamp for the first time and REALLY enjoy it!  I love helping people discover a new hobby and release creativity!  It’s such a blessing to me!  I swear, I LOVE what I do!  I’ll get pictures up soon of the cards we made, but I wanted to show you the notebook I demonstrated as a gift for Nikki.

I love this SO much!  Nikki’s favorite color is purple, so I immediately went for Elegant Eggplant!  This is really a simple project, but has such a dramatic elegant look to it!  It is a small legal pad (I believe it was 8″x5″ but I’m not positive) which I covered with Elegant Eggplant.  The top folds over on the back about halfway down the back and is adhered with Sticky Strip.  I used the Simply Scored™ Scoring Tool at the top to score where it folds over and where the paper is perforated.  This way the cover is adhered on the front and back, but the paper will easily tear out.  There is a layer of Basic Black, and then Whisper White.  I stamped En Français onto the Whisper White in Elegant Eggplant.  The flower at the top is what really rocks it though!  It’s so simple!

To make the flower I punched three of the 2-3/8″ scallop circles and one 1-3/4″ scalloped circles and cut slits at every other scallop all the way around.  Then I pierced the center and put a 1/8″ Mini Brad in the center to hold them together.  I spritzed the circles with the Stampin’ Spritzer until they were all wet and just scrunched and folded them until I liked the shape.  I made sure that there was a thumb sized impression left in the middle though, while the flower was drying I put the rest of the notebook together.  For the center I took the largest (13/16″) Vintage Faceted Designer Button and threaded it with Whisper White Baker’s Twine, then simply adhered the button into the center of the flower using Glue Dots and then put the flower onto the notebook with Sticky Strip.  The Whisper White 5/8″ Organza Ribbon was the final touch.  I adhered that to the back with a piece of Sticky Strip and then wrapped it around to tie the notebook closed.  It sounds a lot more difficult than it is.  I don’t type out instructions very well.  Maybe one day I’ll try doing a photo tutorial.  Either way the notebook really is super simple and was a hit with Nikki…

I’m really jazzed, this was my first workshop since signing back up to be a demonstrator, and I think it went swimmingly!  I not only got to share what I love, but I met some new people, and had a fabulous time just visiting and chatting with some other ladies!  That’s part of the fun of stamping, not just the crafty part (which is AMAZINGLY AWESOME) but you get to visit and hang out, what can be better than that?

Ingredients:

Stamps:  En Français (109521)

Ink:  Elegant Eggplant (126969)

Paper:  Elegant Eggplant (105126), Whisper White (100730), Basic Black (121045)

Accessories:  Stampin’ Spritzer (126185), 2-3/8″ Scallop Circle Punch (118874), 1-3/4″ Scallop Circle Punch (119854), Simply Scored™ Scoring Tool (122334), Paper Piercing Tool (126189), Stampin’ Pierce Mat (126199), Vintage Faceted Designer Buttons (127555), 1/8″ Mini Brads (122941), Whisper White 5/8″ Organza Ribbon (114319), Whisper White Baker’s Twine (124262)

Miscellaneous:  Sticky Strip

Leave a Reply

