Birthday for a Hostess

When you host a workshop or join a club there are some awesome perks as I mentioned in my post about club earlier this week.  One is the option for exclusive hostess only sets like this one, A Cherry On Top!  I made this card for a dear friend, who shall not be named because I don’t know if she’s received it yet, and it makes me hungry!  lol  Who doesn’t love cupcakes for their birthday, especially with a cherry on top!

 

I adore this card, all of the little touches that went into it made it so special, for an amazingly special friend!  The cupcakes are in two pieces, the base and the frosting, so after I stamped the cake stand I simply inked the bottom pieces, stamped them using the Stamp-a-ma-jig (so that I could get them lined up evenly on the stand), then lined the “frosting” up with it and did the same.  To get the two colors on the cherry I colored directly onto the rubber with my Stampin’ Write Markers, great technique when you want two colors on a single stamp.  Have a closer look…

 

Simple right?  The base is whisper white, and I layered that with Rose Red embossed with the new Fancy Fan Embossing Folder in the Big Shot.  The focal image with the cupcakes is matted on Pretty in Pink and the white border around it was cut using the New Finishing Touches Edgelits die.  I used the Modern Label punch for the Happy Birthday sentiment, stamping it in Rose Red on Whisper White and punching it, then punching an additional piece in Pretty in Pink to be the back layer.  I layered it the same as I did on the Out Comes the Sun card from my Open House.  You simply snip the background piece in half and glue half to each end, forming a sort of layered semi-mat for it.  I finished it all off with Whisper White Baker’s Twine, since it is a cupcake card I thought that was especially appropriate!

As I said, this is a hostess exclusive set, which means you can only get it when you host a workshop or place an order of $150.00.  If you’re not sure about hosting a workshop, a great alternative is to join Stamp Club!  You can find out more details about Stamp Clubs (local and long distance) in my post here.

Ok… I’ve got to get back to homework!  I have a paper due tomorrow, say a prayer and wish me luck!

Ingredients:

Stamps:  A Cherry On Top Hostess Set (125969, Wood Mount or 125971, Clear Mount)

Ink:  Rose Red (126954), Pretty in Pink (126955), Soft Suede (), Chocolate Chip (), Rose Red Stampin’ Write Marker (119700, Subtles Collection Marker Set), Garden Green Stampin’ Write Marker (119701, Regals Collection Marker Set)

Paper:  Whisper White (100730), Rose Red (102544), Pretty in Pink (100459)

Accessories:  Whisper White Baker’s Twine (124262), Modern Label Punch (119849), Fancy Fan Embossing Folder (127751), Finishing Touches Edgelits (127010), Big Shot (113439), Stamp-a-ma-jig (101049)

Miscellaneous:  Snail, Stampin’ Dimensionals

Leave a Reply

