Calypso Butterflies

Oh my goodness it’s been a crazy two days!  Thursday and Friday my husband and I attended the Willow Creek Association Global Leadership Summit.  Our church was a host site and it was awesome!  I had been before, but this was Donovan’s first time, I think he’ll want to go back next year.  It’s an amazing event, we were privileged to hear Condoleezza Rice, Bill Hybels, John Ortberg, Craig Groeschel, and Patrick Lencioni among others.  There was also amazing music, the band Gungor and a young man named Kevin Olusola.  Kevin plays cello… and beatboxes, together!  He calls it “celloboxing”!  Awesome to see and hear!  He’s also done some really awesome covers of some popular songs, you can see his covers of Smooth Criminal by Micahel Jackson and Baby by Justin Bieber on his official site (along with some others)!  Here is one example of his celloboxing…

Awesome right?

Now that you know what I’ve been up to let me show you this little card I whipped up this morning.  I used the Beautiful Wings Embosslits to make this simple, but striking, card…

Such a simple card!  I used Calypso Coral for the base, a layer of Whisper White, stamped “Imagine the Possibilities” from Word Play, and put the butterflies on with glue dots.  When I stamped the words I used the Stamp-a-ma-jig to make sure that it was straight and the right distance from the corner.  I LOVE my Stamp-a-ma-jig!  Oh, and I can’t forget the bling in the center of the biggest butterfly!  Gotta have bling whenever possible, right?  Here’s a closer look at that…

Gorgeous right?  I used the largest rhinestones on the card, the smaller ones wouldn’t have done it justice in my opinion.  I thought about putting rhinestones on all of the butterflies but I like it this way so much better!  It’s adds that sparkle without overpowering the simplicity of the overall card.  Now, I can’t say that I came up with this layout at all!  I’ve seen cards like this all over the place, so I naturally wanted to make one too!  Butterflies are one of my favorite creatures, and this phrase just made me think… if a tiny caterpillar can turn into a beautiful butterfly, imagine what is possible for us?

Now, something super special about this card… I’m having my first class, YAY!  On August 25th from 1pm to 5pm.  It will be a 10/10/25 class.  That means you’ll be making 10 cards, with 10 envelopes, for $25.00, which is only $2.50 a card and you can’t get cards like this at the store for $2.50!  Plus it’s handmade and everyone loves to receive something handmade, whether they tell you or not!  This is just ONE of the cards you will make at that class, there will be more gorgeousness that you will make and take home and they will encompass a variety of techniques and tools.  I have limited space for classes, so you will want to register soon before it fills up!  The class will be on Saturday, August 25th from 1:00 pm until 5:00 pm.  Let me know if you would like to attend, payment is required before I can hold your spot in class, and the registration deadline is Wednesday, August 22nd by 10:00 pm.  I’m so excited to be holding my first class and hope you’ll come help me celebrate!  Feel free to share the details with your friends and have them contact me if they have any questions.  If you will be bringing someone I will need to know that by the 22nd as well as receive their payment.  Thanks so much and I hope to see you on the 25th!

 

 

 

Oops, I almost forgot to give you the ingredients…

Ingredients:

Stamps:  Word Play (120308, Wood Mount or 120651, Clear Mount)

Ink:  Calypso Coral (126983)

Paper:  Whisper White (100730), Calypso Coral (122925)

Accessories:  Rhinestone Basic Jewels (119246), Beautiful Wings Embosslits (118138), Big Shot (113439), Stamp-a-ma-jig (101049)

Miscellaneous:  Snail, Glue Dots

One thought on “Calypso Butterflies

Leave a Reply

