Vroom… sketchy!

Last week Heidi from Polka Dot Pixies asked for submissions for her new Card Sketch Challenge, this is her first Sketch Challenge and I was excited to play along!  This bad boy is what I came up with…

This was a fun card, and a FUN challenge!  As soon as I saw the “pennants” on the bottom I knew exactly what I was going to do!  They reminded me of racing flags, and that made me think of the set Need for Speed… and who doesn’t love a little red sports car?  I stamped the car in Jet Black StazOn onto Whisper White, then used my Blender Pens to color it in.  I used Real Red for the paint, More Mustard for the Turn Signals/Hazard Lights, Bashful Blue for the Windows and Headlights, Basic Gray for the tires and rims, and Sahara Sand for just a bit of shading around the shadows under the car.  Very simple coloring.  I hope the colors really show on your screen.  Monitor resolutions are often hard to really tell what colors look in real life, but the red and black and silver of the “diamondplate” just make it go KA-POW!  Oh yes…. the “diamondplate”, my favorite part!

I’ve been wanting to make this faux diamondplate for a while, and this gave me the perfect opportunity to try it.  This is such a cool technique and SO stinking simple!  Are you ready?  Ok… you take a piece of cardstock, whatever scrap color you have available in the size you need, cut a piece of foil larger than your card stock and adhere the foil to the card stock securely.  I wrapped it completely around to the back, using snail to secure it in the front and on the back.  I did this twice, although once is probably enough, with it being my first time I wanted to make sure.  Now, just run it through the Big Shot in the Houndstooth Embossing Folder and voila’… diamond-plate, just like on dad’s old toolbox!  Awesome right?  I think it totally made this card something special, gave it that one thing it needed, of course I’m probably not very objective though!

Here’s the sketch, go have a look and see what you can come up with!  Don’t forget to come back here and leave me a comment with a link to your gorgeousness though, I want to see!!!

 

One last thing… Stamp Clubs are starting soon!  Yay!!!  Watch for more info to be posted this afternoon or evening on how you can join a stamp club, make gorgeous cards like this every month, AND build up your stamping/scrapbooking supplies each month while staying on budget!  🙂

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

Stamps:  Need for Speed (122715, Wood Mount) or (122717, Clear Mount)

Ink:  Jet Black StazOn (101406), Real Red (126949), More Mustard (126964), Bashful Blue (126961), Sahara Sand (126976), Basic Gray (126981)

Paper:  Whisper White (100730), Basic Black (121045), Real Red (102482), scrap

Accessories:  Blender Pens (102845), Houndstooth Embossing Folder (123134), Big Shot (113439)

Miscellaneous:  Aluminum Foil, Paper Snips, Snail, Stampin’ Dimensionals, Silhouette Machine

 

Leave a Reply

