Banana Splits for Dinner

Last week on facebook I got an event invite from a friend to a “Banana Split Party” but this wasn’t a “normal” event.  This was special, and worldwide, and over 81,000 people are attending (so far).  It’s a Banana Split Party in honor of a little boy named Ryan, and her mom’s wish that people have banana splits for dinner with their children, to make a memory that he will never have.  It’s gone worldwide, like I said over 81,000 people are attending as of tonight, and on June 20th Today Moms posted this article about it.  Wanna see a couple of photos of what we did?

This is my husband Donovan…

My 16 year old son Daniel…

My 15 year old son Bryan…

My 13 year old daughter Allison…

and this is Allison and me…

It was a lot of fun, and we made some great memories with the kids!  🙂  I’d highly suggest making a memory like this with your family, you can join in the facebook party and let Ryan’s family know about the memory you made, they’d love to hear about it!

So… in honor of that I thought it would be great to make an ice cream card!  I used the Mouthwatering set and started off as somewhat of a CASE (Copy and Share Everything) of the card on page 48 of the catalog, but gave it my own twist in a way. Casing a card is a great way to get a start on something, and then add your own touches, change things up to use the supplies you have on hand, or to just make it your own, or just copy it exactly if you want to.  It’s all up to you!  Here’s what I came up with…

Adorable, right?  Like I said, I started off with the general idea of the card in the catalog, but tweaked it a bit to make it my own.  I used the Labels Collection Framelits for the layers, like they did but I liked the larger mat.  Instead of the punched pieces I used my Sponge Daubers to actually spot the paper with ink, LOVE the large bright dots!  I don’t have the set “Sweets for the Sweet” which is what they used for the sentiment on the catalog card, so instead I used Itty Bitty Banners and the Bitty Banners Framelits.  I used Polka Dot Parade Designer Series Paper and Melon Mambo for my banners at the top and I also used 1/8″ Taffeta Ribbon in Daffodil Delight behind the Banner to kind of bring it together.  One thing I want to point out, which unfortunately you cannot experience, is that the ice cream is scented.  I used our vanilla scented embossing powder on it and it is AMAZING!  It’s not overpowering, just the slightest hint of vanilla that is so scrumptious!  I love it!!!

What I did to make this super easy was stamp the lower part of the cone first with crumb cake (I only inked the bottom of the stamp), then go back with my Stamp-a-ma-jig and stamp the cherry and the stem which I had colored with the marker.  I did it this way instead of coloring the whole stamp with the marker because you get a more even image, plus since the cone part of the stamp is ridged it can cause your marker tips to get frayed quickly.  Inking only one part of the stamp was not difficult in this case because of how the stamp is made, I could have also masked the upper part with a post it note when I inked it.  I wasn’t worried about part of the ice cream being discolored though because I knew I was going to be putting the actual ice cream scoop on top after I embossed it and cut it out.  So, for the actual scoop of ice cream I stamped it in Daffodil Delight onto a scrap of Whisper White, then using the Stamp-a-ma-jig I stamped right over it with VersaMark.  Then I sprinkled my Vanilla scented embossing powder over it, shot it with the Heat Tool and voila’, vanilla ice cream!  I cut it out and stuck it on the cone with glue dots!  Yummy!

Now… I hope this has made you good and hungry for some ice cream, go find the people you want to make memories with… your kids, significant other, family, friends, or a neighbor and go have some ice cream for dinner… OR you can even just go buy an ice cream for someone who happens to be at your local ice cream shop, just do something nice and make a memory for them!

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

Stamps:  Mouthwatering (125675, Wood Mount or 125677, Clear Mount) and Itty Bitty Banners (126255, Wood Mount or 126257, Clear Mount)

Ink:  Crumb Cake (126975), Daffodil Delight (126944), Melon Mambo (126948), Crumb Cake Stampin’ Write Marker (120967), Melon Mambo Stampin’ Write Marker (not available individually), VersaMark (102283)

Paper:  Whisper White (100730), Melon Mambo (115320), Daffodil Delight (119683), Polka Dot Parade Designer Series Paper (126902)

Accessories:  Daffodil Delight 1/8″ Taffeta Ribbon (119254), Vanilla Scented Stampin’ Emboss Powder (125590), Heat Tool (129053), Sponge Daubers (102892), Labels Collection Framelits (125598), Bitty Banners Framelits (129267), Big Shot (113439)

Miscellaneous:  Paper Snips, Snail, Glue Dots

Leave a Reply

