Last Chance for Reason to Smile

Today is the last day you can order the adorable set Reason to Smile.  I’ll definitely miss this cutie-patootie!  It’s such a sweet and versatile set!  I love the daisies, daisies are one of my favorite flowers, especially Gerbera daisies.  Only Texas Bluebonnets are more beautiful in my opinion!  Here’s another card I whipped up today with Reason to Smile, just to show you one more time what a great set it is.

For this card I used an old sketch from Always Playing with Paper.  They have some really cute ones over there.  Sketches are always a good starting point when you’re stuck for card ideas.  I tweaked it a little bit, just to make it fit what I was looking for.  A sketch can be a great way to make a card, just choose your paper and stamps, follow the sketch layout and voila!  If you like you can change it up a bit though, to make it your own.  I used Merry Monday Challenge #2 from this post, but tweaked it by tilting the focal image and adding a cut out flower to the side with a dimensional, just to make it “pop”!  You can “kind of” see in this close up of the sentiment.

The neat thing about Reason to Smile is that they are two-step stamps.  There is an outline stamp, and then a stamp for the inside.  This allows you many more options when you are stamping.  You can stamp just the outline like I did with the Wild Wasabi and Marina Mist card at my Open House, you can stamp the outline and then fill in the outline using the inner stamp, you can stamp the inner colored part for a shadowy look, or if you want to you can stamp both in random places, giving your Card Stock an even more patterned look.  For this card I chose to use both stamps on top of each other, to give it the look of the flowers being colored.  I lined them up using the Stamp-a-ma-jig, it is such a wonderful tool and makes things like this so simple!

For my colors I chose Perfect Plum, Rich Razzleberry, and Very Vanilla.  It’s kind of hard to tell it’s vanilla in the picture, but trust me, it is.  Using the vanilla with these two colors was somewhat outside of my comfort zone.  I usually only use vanilla with oranges and browns.  I thought I would try it though, and I’m VERY pleased with the result.  It just goes to show that experimentation is always a good thing!

If you haven’t gotten this lovely set yet there is still time.  You can e-mail me or go to my website and place your order online!  It is an amazing deal at only $5.00 with a $50.00 purchase.  You can’t beat a $5.00 stamp set right?  Enjoy the rest of your day, I’m off to do some homework!

Oops, I almost forgot the “ingredients”…

Stamp Sets:  Reason to Smile (131275, Clear Mount) or (131274, Wood Mount), Word Play (120651, Clear Mount) or (120308, Wood Mount)

Card Stock:  Very Vanilla (101650), Perfect Plum (101889), Rich Razzleberry(115316)

Ink:  Perfect Plum (126963), Rich Razzleberry(126950)

Accessories:  Scallop Edge Border Punch (119882), Stamp-a-ma-jig (101049)

Miscellaneous:  Snail, Stampin’ Dimensionals

2 thoughts on “Last Chance for Reason to Smile

Leave a Reply

