Happy Anniversary!

My 8th wedding anniversary was on July 16th, and my husband made me a beautiful card!  Did I mention that my husband stamps?  Yes, he’s the one who got me to stamp!  I had no desire at all to take up stamping and he convinced me the first year we were married.  We made our Christmas cards together in 2004 and I haven’t looked back since!  I sometimes wonder if he regrets it, but I don’t think he does.  So, back to today’s card.  He hasn’t made me a card in a while, and things have been so hectic around here lately with my school and how he’s been feeling, summer stuff with the kids, etc. that I didn’t think there would have been any time at all for him to have made anything.  When he got home from work that day he surprised me though!  Look…

He used the set Clockworks, which I suppose some might consider an odd choice for an anniversary card for a woman, but you see pocket watches have a special place in my heart.  When my daddy passed away my step-mother gave me his pocket watch that he used at work.  He worked on the railroad and his watch was very important, it was what kept exact track of when trains were scheduled so that there would be no accidents.  It is my most cherished possession.

It’s old, and it doesn’t work right now, I suppose it might if I wound it but I won’t.  I want it just like it was when I got it.  I won’t even have it cleaned.  See the box?  That’s what he kept it in, that’s his writing in fact.  Daddy passed away before I met Donovan and I always wished he could have, I know he would have loved him.  He used to ask if I had found a man to take care of me.  My daddy was old school, it wasn’t a sexist thing, but he grew up in the ’30s, so that was how it was.  He wanted to know that I had a good man to take care of me and my kiddos.  You might think this is really weird, but Donovan proposed to me at my daddy’s grave, it was the closest he could get to meeting him and asking his permission.  🙂  When we got married, since my daddy couldn’t be there with me, I had his watch put into my bouquet…

It was my way of having my daddy there with me.  Anyway, all this to explain why this card was perfect for our anniversary!  He stamped the cogs onto the Whisper White with Soft Suede and the background pieces in Pink Pirouette (one of my favorite colors) and then ran it through the Big Shot with the Square Lattice Folder.  Then he lightly sponged the edges and center of that piece with Soft Suede, giving it that grungy distressed look.  The watch face is punched with the 1 1/4″ Circle Punch, has an Antique Brass 3/16″ brad in the center and popped up on a Stampin’ Dimensional.  The square with the pocket watch and the rectangles with “Good Times” are all distressed with the retired Cutter Kit and then sponged lightly with Soft Suede.  Before adhering “Good Times” from the retired Celebrate Everything set, he wrapped just a bit of Linen Thread around it.  Want a closer look?

I have to say that my husband is an amazingly talented stamper!  How many other men will actually make their wives an anniversary card, especially one that looks this good?  I’m amazingly blessed to have Donovan as my husband, I don’t know why God chose to bless me with such an amazing man, but I am so grateful for the gift of my husband!  I hope you’ve enjoyed this card, and this little tidbit of knowledge about me!  Have a great night!

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

Stamps:  Clockworks (127290, Wood Mount) or (127292, Clear Mount) and Celebrate Everything (Retired)

Card Stock:  Whisper White (100730), Pink Pirouette (111351), Soft Suede (115318)

Ink:  Pink Pirouette (126956), Soft Suede (126987)

Accessories:  1 1/4″ Circle Punch (119861), Square Lattice Embossing Folder (119976), 3/16″ Metallic Brads, Linen Thread (104199)

Miscellaneous:  Snail, Stampin’ Dimensionals

5 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary!

  1. Your Post made me cry, Donovan is definitely a keeper. Hey how do we know that your Dad didn’t somehow get you two together? The world works in mysterious ways.
    Hugs,
    Di

Leave a Reply

