Reasons to Smile

My open house was yesterday and I’d say it was a great success!  I had eight ladies show up, great turnout in my opinion!  Not too many, not too few.  We did the two projects I gave you a sneak peek of in Thursday’s post.  OMG!  I just realized that I made a typo in the title on Thursday!  How embarrassing!  I put “Sneak Peak” when it should be “Peek”… we didn’t climb any mountains y’all!  Although I suppose if I had done some sort of card with mountains then it might have been valid… I wasn’t that quick though!  Sorry about that, my editing skills are usually better than that!  Please call me out if I do something like that, oh gosh!

Anyway… back on track!  I believe that three of the ladies had stamped before, everyone else was brand new to stamping, and I think they all loved it.  I’m so glad!  I LOVE introducing new people to Stampin’ Up! and the joy that comes with making cards and paper crafting!  That’s why I love being a Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator, it allows me to do this!  We had tons of fun, ate yummy Tuxedo Brownie Cups and Bacon Lettuce and Tomato Dip with Canape’ French Bread (both Pampered Chef recipes).  Made three fun cards, learned about stamping, made new friends, reconnected with some I haven’t seen in a while, and just had a fabulous time!  🙂  Let me show you what we made…

I love the crispness of this card!  When I saw this set in the Catalog this card popped into my head, the colors are so bright and fun, it’s so sunny!  It’s monsoon season here in Arizona, so I thought this was pretty appropriate for right now!  We have these amazing storms that blow in out of nowhere almost.  The horrible dust storms, or the “haboobs” as they call them, and the thunderstorms that flood the streets within just a short amount of time.  We live in the desert though, so the rain always ends and the sun always comes back!  Here is a closer look…

Isn’t that cute?  To make the card first we stamped the boots on Whisper White Card Stock with Black StazOn, then colored them with Daffodil Delight and Tempting Turquoise using Blender Pens.  We cut the boots out with the Paper Snips, called “fussy cutting,” then mounted them onto another piece of Whisper White.  The bottom boot is stuck down with glue dots rather than snail, it gives it just a little bit of lift.  The top boot is held in place with Stampin’ Dimensionals for that extra “pop”.  I made sure everyone knew to use a glue dot and dimensional at the top and bottom of the boot so that their boot didn’t go “flopping” around, nobody wants floppy boots!  The pennant strips are cut from Polka Dot Parade Designer Series Paper and Tempting Turqouise with the ends snipped.  For the turquoise piece we ran it through the Big Shot using the Chevron Embossing Folder to give it that special something.  You can’t see it very much, but the little things can make a huge difference in a card.  For the “sun” we stamped the boot again (or you could use a marker and just ink the sentiment part of the stamp), this time in Tempting Turquoise, then punched it out with the Modern Label punch.  This is the neat part though!  See the turquoise mat behind it?  Well, we don’t have a larger punch for that, so what we did was punch another piece in turquoise, snip it in half, and using snail simply glue it to the ends of the white piece so that it’s matted on the outside.  I wish I had thought to take a photo of the process, sorry about that.  I’ll try to take a quick shot tomorrow and upload it.  Super simple!  The sun itself is Daffodil Delight punched with the 1 3/4″ Circle punch.  The sentiment is put on the sun with Snail and that is placed on the card base with Stampin’ Dimensionals.  Everything else is simply glued onto the base with Snail.  I’ll give you all of the ingredients for the projects at the very end…

The next card we did was with the set Thoughts & Prayers:

This was a very simple card to make, two colors (Always Artichoke and Whisper White) and very simple layers.  We used the 3/16″ Corner Punch for every square edge on the card.  The white layer was embossed in the Big Shot with the Square Lattice Folder.  I love the look of that folder, to me it almost looks like home made paper in a way.  We took Always Artichoke and Whisper White and ran them through the Big Shot with the Top Note Bigz die.  For the white piece we had to use the Paper Snips to cut along the perforated edge so that the Always Artichoke would be a mat for it.  When we stamped the tree I used the Stamp-a-ma-jig to make sure it was straight and centered where we wanted it.  We stamped the “Praying for You” sentiment onto Whisper White and punched it out with the Curly Label Punch then used Snail to adhere it to the artichoke square.  Everything is glued down with Snail except the “Praying for You” piece which is popped up on Stampin’ Dimensionals.

Once again I love the simplicity and elegance of this card.  There are times when you just need to let someone know that you’re praying, that you’ve got their back, and I love this card, it’s perfect for that.

The last card was a “surprise” project.  If you remember I only posted two cards in my “Sneak Peak” (I misspelled it on purpose this time).  This month only Stampin’ Up! has a fabulous promotion with a wonderful new stamp set, “Reason to Smile“!  So I surprised my guests with a third card using that set!  

Cute right?  This is such a fun simple card!  It’s a 4×4 card on Wild Wasabi Card Stock.  There’s a layer of Whisper White where we first stamped the sentiment in the upper corner in Wild Wasabi using the Stamp-a-ma-jig.  The sentiment is from the set Word Play, which I adore!  I used the Stamp-a-ma-jig because I wanted it to be aligned in the corner evenly, and I stamped the sentiment first so that I could then stamp my flowers around it.  The flowers are from the Reason to Smile set, they are the largest outline flower, and they are stamped in Marina Mist.  The bottom strip is Marina Mist and has the smaller outline flower stamped on it tone-on-tone (also in Marina Mist).  The pieces are glued together and finished off with Wild Wasabi 1/4″ Stitched Grosgrain Ribbon, then it’s glued to the card base.

VERY simple and VERY cute card!  Like I said, this is a special stamp set that Stampin’ Up! has available this month only, for $5.00 with a $50.00 purchase, what an amazing deal!  It’s such a versatile set, I only used two of the seven stamps in the set, there is so much more that can be done with it!  Here are just a couple of other ideas and for more details on the promotion, or to order, go to my website here.  Remember that you only have until the 31st to order it though.  I think that they chose a great name for the set, after all, isn’t a $5.00 stamp set a GREAT  Reason to Smile?  🙂

I hope you liked the cards we made at the Open House!  I had a fabulous time coming up with them, sharing them with each of the ladies who came over, and I can’t wait to share new ideas at the workshops I booked!  If you would like to have some time with you and your friends making some projects like this contact me and we can schedule a workshop for you!  You’ll have a great time, make some beautiful things, and can get free products!

I owe a HUGE thanks to my husband and kiddos for helping me get ready for the Open House!  Donovan, Daniel, Bryan, Allie, Kylie and Brendan (my son’s friends who I have “adopted”) y’all are awesome and I love you!  Thanks for supporting me and helping me with this, I couldn’t have done it without you!  I owe you all a big old Blizzard from Dairy Queen!  YUMMERS!

 

 

 

 

Here are the “ingredients” for the projects:

Here Comes the Sun (Bootiful Occasions):

Stamp Set:  Bootiful Occasions (126597, Clear Mount) or (126595, Wood Mount)

Card Stock/Paper:  Whisper White (100730), Tempting Turquoise (102067), Daffodil Delight (119683), Polka Dot Parade Designer Series Paper (126902)

Ink:  Tempting Turquoise (126952), Daffodil Delight (126944), Jet Black StazOn (101406)

Accessories:  1 3/4″ Circle Punch (119850), Modern Label Punch (119849), Chevron Embossing Folder (127749), Stamp-a-ma-jig (101049)

Miscellaneous:  Paper Snips, Snail, Stampin’ Dimensionals, Glue Dots

I’m Praying For You (Thoughts & Prayers):

Stamp Set:  Thoughts & Prayers (127805, Clear Mount) or (113252, Wood Mount)

Card Stock:  Whisper White (100730), Always Artichoke (105119)

Ink:  Always Artichoke (126972)

Accessories:  Curly Label Punch (119851), 3/16″ Corner Punch (119871), Top Note Bigz Die (113463)

Miscellaneous:  Stamp-a-ma-jig, Paper Snips, Snail, Stampin’ Dimensionals

Reason to Smile:

Stamp Set:  Reason to Smile (131275, Clear Mount) or (131274, Wood Mount), Word Play (120651, Clear Mount) or (120308, Wood Mount)

Card Stock:  Whisper White (100730), Wild Wasabi (108641), Marina Mist (119682)

Ink:  Wild Wasabi (126959), Marina Mist (126962)

Accessories:  Wild Wasabi 1/4″ Stitched Grosgrain Ribbon (126873)

Miscellaneous:  Stamp-a-ma-jig, Snail

5 thoughts on “Reasons to Smile

Leave a Reply

