Summertime Yumminess!

For my first post I thought I’d not only give you something cute but also tell you a little tidbit about myself, I LOVE watermelon!  I don’t know how it is growing up in other places, but growing up in Texas we ate watermelon all summer long!  Every time our family got together there was watermelon involved.  I remember when I would go visit my Daddy we would always stop at the roadside fruit and vegetable stands and buy watermelon.  He would “thump” the watermelon looking for just the right one.  I don’t know how he did it but somehow he always found the perfect one, so ripe and delicious.  You’d think after all those years of watching and listening I would have learned the trick but nope, I still can’t pick a ripe watermelon to save my life.  I think it’s a conspiracy.  I can however make one that looks beautiful and ripe, so I did!  🙂

This was such a simple card.  I simply colored directly on the stamps with my Stampin’ Write Markers to get the two colors on the one stamp.  You do need to be a bit careful because you don’t want the Wild Wasabi, the rhind, to get into the Mambo Melon, the meat, of the watermelon.  Then you simply stamp.  For the center watermelon I stamped it on scrap paper and cut it out with my Paper Snips then mounted it on Stampin’ Dimensionals.  You’ll notice that this one, the one popped up on dimensionals, is kind of sparkly at the top.  That’s the “salt” on the watermelon.  You see, I always put salt on my watermelon.  It’s so yummy!  I think it’s that sweet and salty thing, I don’t know, but it’s delicious!  Here, have a closer look…

To achieve this look I put a small dot of Crystal Effects in the center of the melon then used my finger to spread it out very thin along the edge and sprinkled the Dazzling Diamonds on it.  The Two-Way Glue Pen would have worked better for this, but I don’t have one, yet.  You can bet it’s on my list for my next order!

I hope this didn’t make you too hungry, I know that it sure made me want some watermelon!  Maybe I’ll have to try my hand at picking one this weekend, see if I can get lucky!  Have any suggestions for me other than listen for it to sound hollow?  They all sound hollow to me, lol!  Have a great night!

Oh, and in case you’re curious, here are the “ingredients” for this delicious card…

Stamps:  Mouthwatering (125677) & So Very (retired)

Ink:  Wild Wasabi & Melon Mambo Stampin’ Write Markers

Card Stock:  Whisper White, Melon Mambo, & Wild Wasabi

Accessories:  Wild Wasabi 1/4″ Stitched Grosgrain Ribbon, Dazzling Diamonds Glitter, & Chevron Embossing Folder for the Big Shot

6 thoughts on “Summertime Yumminess!

  1. What a “sweet” card! Love the bright, happy colors and your simple watermelon image! Thank you so much for joining us this week at CASology! 🙂

Leave a Reply

